Timmy Failure Review and Giveaway

Thursday, 25 June 2015

Timmy Failure Review and Giveaway


Timmy Failure books


Big man is nearly 8 and I am pleased to say loves reading. Writing and spelling, not so much, but he will happily spend his evenings reading and chuckling away to Tom Gates, rather than go to sleep.

When I saw the Timmy Failure series I thought that this would make a good edition to his growing library. The series is aimed at readers 8+ and tells the story of a  boy called Timmy Failure. Timmy is the founder of the "best" detective agency in town - Total Failure, Inc. He has a polar bear partner and is said to be perfect for fans of Wimpy Kid and Barry Loser.

Big man and I read the Timmy Failure: Mistakes Were Made together and there were moments where he was laughing out loud. He did, however, find some of it confusing. The book is American so there are a few language differences. For example it uses Mom rather than Mum and names sweets like Hershey's. This is fine, but as big man hasn't heard of these it made for slightly harder reading. The writing style is also in short chapter that flick around and this can take a while to get used to.

Timmy Failure: Now Look What You Have Done is the second book in the series and is now availiable in paperback. It opens with Timmy breaking his leg after trying to remove a "smartest person in the world" sign. It goes on to him deciding that he will crack his biggest case. A school competition to find a stolen globe. But he misses the deadline due to a stopped watch.... He now starts to investigate this injustice with the help of his Great Aunt.

When it comes to books, big man is like me. He needs to be in the right mood to read them. Me saying read this so you can review it, doesn't cut it. At the moment he is into his Tom Gates books and that is it. I think in a few months to a year though he will enjoy reading these books. The illustrations are fantastic and add to the humour.

I am pleased to say that Walker Books have offered one of my readers a set of the Timmy Failure books for themselves. Yes that also includes the third book, Timmy Failure: We Meet Again. Just complete the rafflecopter below. Good Luck!


a Rafflecopter giveaway




Family Fever


ThePrizeFinder - See more at: http://www.theprizefinder.com/content/set-timmy-failure-books#sthash.RNjF3Kdc.dpuf


SuperLucky Blog Giveaway Linky

108 comments:

Tracy K Nixon said...

I would recommend the Pippi Longstocking books by Astrid Lindgren for an 8 year old girl and a book both my sons enjoyed at the age of 8 was Stop Tose Monsters by Steve Cole!

ashleigh allan said...

Enid Blyton - the faraway tree!

maci234 said...

the famous five

Rosalind Blight said...

any roald dahl books

Kelly law said...

We are reading dirty bertie books at the moment. My sons 8 and hes loving them!

laura banks said...

the secret seven and its a classic

Nickles83 said...

We have just started the roahl dahl books.

Christopher Read said...

Diary of a Wimpy Kid

Ruth Harwood said...

The Hobbit and the Chronicles of Narnia xx

Leila Benhamida said...

Any of the diary of a wimpy kid.

Paula Readings said...

The Faraway Tree by Enid Blyton

Laura Pritchard said...

All the Roald Dahl books, they're hysterical but dark!

Kay Panayi said...

The bfg

Claire Woods said...

Captain Underpants

Plastig Ffantastig said...

The Famous Five series was my favourite at that age :)

Leanne Hansell said...

The Magic Faraway Tree series

Gemma Holland said...

My son loves Tom Gates and the Mr Gum books

Elaine Dale said...

our 8 year old grandson is currently reading his way through the DIARY OF A WIMPY KID books

Julie Ward said...

Grandson likes Horrid Henry books

Charlotte Pearson said...

Captain Underpants, Horrid Henry, Diary of a Wimpy Kid @MummyFever

sarah diane rees said...

harry potter

laura stewart said...

peter rabbit books xx

Andrew said...

Tintin

Maria P said...

adventures of Pippi

Elizabeth Hinds said...

My daughter has just turned 8 and is a total bookworm - at the moment she is really into the Harry Potter series and any Roald Dahl or Jacqueline Wilson book :)

Susie Wilkinson said...

Roald Dahl is always a winner!

caroline walliss said...

The Famous Five.x

Amanda Doyle Hart said...

My son loves captain underpants

Joro said...

Maybe the Diary of a Wimpy Kid series or Horrid Henry if they're not much of a big reader. But if they are I would say Harry Potter if they haven't read it already. It does start all magical rather than the somewhat scary it turns into further on in the series.

Jo m Welsh said...

Moody judy they are American so some of the terms are different but good read for them

foz said...

Harry Potter

leanne williams said...

roald dahl books

Samantha Wheeler said...

Roald Dahl

Elizabeth Doody said...

Captain Underpants the whole collection, these were the first books to get my son into reading, I would hear him laughing out loud!!

fluffypinkmarshmallow said...

Harry Potter books.

Alexa Schoolar said...

Dork Diaries is a good series to get into if you like the Wimpy kid style books.

Harry Alty said...

Captain Underpants I used to love those films :)

LEA said...

Any of David Walliams books, my son loves Gangsa Granny!

Gemma Brown said...

my 9 year old is working his way through the beast quest series. he also really enjoyed the series of unfortunate events books :)

Aaron Broad said...

Road Dahl is always good

Rachel Butterworth said...

David Williams books are perfect for that age.

PAULINE HILL said...

HARRY POTTER

Corinne Peat said...

Harry Potter

clairdownham said...

david walliams and jaqueeline wilson

SHARON said...

Road Dahl

Colette B said...

My little dude is almost 6 and is developing a real love of reading. I can imagine these will appeal to his sense of humour when he's a little older!

Thanks for sharing your review on #TriedTested this week x

Yet Another Blogging Mummy!!! said...

These books look like what my boys would enjoy. I'd also recommend Wimpy Kid, Beast Quest and Horrible Histories books #Triedtested

Tammy Tudor said...

Dork diaries

h_igoe said...

Secret Seven

Laura Asplin said...

Harry Potter

Karl Borowy said...

Roald Dahl

kayleigh bates said...

Harry potter

Sarah Archibald said...

roald dahl books!

MrRichTea said...

Roald Dahl :)

Sara Janeg said...

David Walliams

Hannah Bartram said...

Roald Dahl

Lucy carter said...

The Wimpy Kid Series

Sarah Davison said...

David Walliams books are fab for kids that age x

Darrell said...

Horrible Histories would be my recommendation

SARAH LAMBERT said...

Any of the David Walliams books that's what my son likes :)

Michelle Banks said...

the magic faraway tree - enid blyton

Angela Kelly said...

The Pig series, especially Pig and the Talking Poo

pixiepie said...

anything deemed acceptable for an 8 year old........ any reading is better than none..... stretching the mind and imagination!!

Michelle Dagger said...

Anything by Roald Dahl!

emma j lowe said...

Roald Dahl, my 9 year old had these, I brought a box set for her last year and she loves them.

Colin Gault said...

C.S.Lewis

Kamila Yildirim said...

Astrid Lindgren

castleton said...

Horrible Histories are great

Monica Gilbert said...

Beverly Cleary books. Henry Higgins and/or Ramona Quimby, depending on their interests.

Pretty Prizes said...

It would depend on the child and their reading ability.

Eileen Tingle said...

The Roald Dahl books have satisfied my Grandson, I bought the entire range for him and he's worked through the lot, they're sorted into age ranges and lots of fun to read.

anita said...

Well my grandson loves the Diaries of a Wimpy Kid books

Deb Alexander said...

Enid Blyton is very good for 8 year olds! :)

Laura S said...

Diary of a Wimpy Kid

Diana said...

Secret Seven :)

shirlz51 said...

anything by Dick King Smith

GCforever said...

Start working his way through Roald Dahl.

katie w said...

Horrible histories

Donna Large said...

the wimpy kids

KATE SABIN-BURNS said...

Roal Dahl :)

snarepuss said...

enid blyton

stephanie lovatt said...

Roald Dahl

PamGregory said...

Famous Five

Lisa Wilkinson said...

The Wimpy Kid books.

Claire Thomson Little said...

minecraft story books

Luisa Deeming said...

diary of a wimpy kid

Tony Teece said...

The classics by Roald Dahl :)

Karen Howden said...

Secret 7 Books

Emma Fox said...

Roald Dahl - Charlie and the chocolate factory

Barbara Handley said...

Ghost Dog by Claire Barker.

Hayley Todd said...

The Snow Spider by Jenny Nimmo

lindsey jones said...

My son loved the diary of a wimpy kid books at that age

Jacqui Rushton said...

Beatrix Potter

Sarah Burton said...

Diary of a Wimpy Kid

Keith Hunt said...

famous five are still king in my home.

denielle nicol said...

The Narnia books. Dxx

christine westlake said...

charlie and the chocolate factory & James and the giant peach

sandy henry said...

My son is an excellent reader but doesn't like reading unless it's doctor who or diary of a wimpy kid x

sbroadley said...

Horrid Henry books

leighanne tossell said...

diary of a wimpy kid

bluwind said...

The wheel of time series, whilst the narrative gets pretty intense the actual language and words used remain simple throughout the series

Rick Carr said...

Famous Five

Erica Price said...

Astrosaurs and Beast Quest

aaron said...

Variety is needed

Caroline Buckley said...

Classic children books - The Lion, The Witch and the Wardrobe

Monika Suchonska said...

Horrid Henry books, Ronald Dahl ( all of them) , Diary of a Whimpy Kid, Tom Gates

Jo Glasspool said...

The Stick Dog series, they are really funny and have my two in stitches

Emma Beckett said...

Anything by Enid Blyton.